Switch to access point with the strongest signal / General Questions / NetSetMan Support

NetSetMan Support

Search for already answered questions about NetSetMan (Pro) or ask new ones

You are not logged in.

#1 2017-06-06 02:54

jhrowehl

Switch to access point with the strongest signal

Setting the IP configuration to DHCP is the same process as assigning an IP address manually. So in your case the NIC is briefly disconnected after the IP settings have been applied.

OK, I just learned something. :-)  That tells me that what I'm seeing is normal, and not a bug of any type.

As for Proset, that's the driver for the NIC. I don't see that I have any choice... it was pre-installed when I bought the laptop, and as far as I can see, I can't use the NIC without it.

I'd be interested in helping with Beta testing, but you must be made aware that I am an electronic service tech for a company that makes custom machine tools. There is always a possibility that I may be sent on a service call with little or no notice. If that happens, I can't make any assurances of the WiFi environment that I'd be in, and depending on the environment, I may not be able to beta test effectively.

If I'm not sent on a call, I have a good environment at home for testing... 2 AP's, dual band, with a main account (for the adults) and a guest account (for the grandkids) on each band.

#2 2017-06-07 15:50

NetSetMan Support
Administrator

Re: Switch to access point with the strongest signal

We've sent you an email with an instruction how to test the new feature.
Please send us your results as soon as possible, because we'd like to release version 4.4.1 soon. Thank you!

jhrowehl wrote:

As for Proset, that's the driver for the NIC. I don't see that I have any choice... it was pre-installed when I bought the laptop, and as far as I can see, I can't use the NIC without it.